Fish Zine

FishZine

Participating friends

Attendee List

mapping_001.jpg

Fish Zine

FishZine 

Huang Xiaoyan
Phoebe WONG
phoebe.JPG
Literati
Writer

Text: Huang Xiaoyan

"Landscape photography is a kind of trek, a kind of chase, a unique impulse of mankind to migrate to the vision of beauty."

                    ——"Floating Light", page 101
               

"For butterflies, emergence may not be a beautiful process described by some writers, but a tense pause between life and death." 
                    ——"The Legend of the Lost Butterfly", page 152


"We can't count the number of raindrops in a rain. We can only intuitively face the unspeakable beauty, danger, anxiety, and destiny."

                    ——"Butterfly Path", page 244

1.
 

I was invited to participate in the art project of "Art Home" Tai Sang Wai because I wanted to try "natural writing". It took some time for me to confuse Nan Sang Wai and Tai Sang Wai. I went to the Tai Sang Wai fish pond a few times. I didn't feel deep and lacked natural education. How can I actually know how to write about nature? So I went back to the original point and first did a "Literature Lying Tour"-style reading of natural writing to understand "natural writing" and nature.

 

My first acquaintance with "natural writing" was from Wu Mingyi's book "Floating Light" (2014). Yes, it was after 2014. This is a long overdue first acquaintance. I came across and picked "Floating Light" at a bookstore in Taipei. Because it talks about photography, I like reading photography and writing. In addition to the author's confession as a photographer, this book also touches on and thinks about nature photography, a photography category that I don't know much about. In the chapter on discussion places and landscape photography, the author begins with a long description of the American Principality of Yosemite by American nature writer John Muir, and praises Muir for "using "text photography" to seduce our imagination. His notes are like Picture after picture, sometimes the landscape is taken, and sometimes the heart is taken." ("Floating Light", p. 91)

 

In fact, Wu Mingyi quoted Ian Jeffrey's "A Brief History of Photography" at the beginning of the book to explain his views on the intersection of photography and nature. He said that he was "fascinated" by two of Jeffrey's thoughts: "First, photography is a key technology to "discover" nature's ability to record images of itself; second, photos are like specimens collected in the wild. These two points unexpectedly completely define what the eco photographers in my mind are pursuing: they have discovered the wild and wild nature that light and cameras can capture all their lives, and they have been hunting light specimens all their lives. When they face their own photos, they will reminisce and relive the scene they had visited in person, and then they will find that they are captured by light and the camera. "("Floating Light", page 28, used in bold text)

 

What did you shoot, and who you are.

 

From "Floating Light", I revisited the story of the classic moon photo "Time of the Moon Rising" by the American master of landscape photography by Ansel Adams, Eadweard Muybrigde's "time series photography"-capturing the four when the horse is running. The moment he left the ground (Wu Buwu said, "Humans really care about the movements of animals so late"), the critical nature of the "cold noodles" landscape of New Topography photography; I also got to know George Shiras III's night animal photography and Stie Alfred Stieglitz repeatedly took photos of the meaning of floating clouds, the ins and outs of the invention of photomicrography, and even the colonial perspective of endangered or legendary animals (such as clouded leopards).

 

Wu Mingyi, who was born in literature, is a nature lover, art lover, and photography lover. He has various inherent contradictions about shooting nature. As mentioned above, he likes to see—and practice himself—to use photos instead of killing to obtain specimens of natural species; and “photos condense the nature that is in motion all the time” ("Floating Light", p. 15) so that nature can be Watching, being studied, and understood over and over. However, "When I was walking and taking pictures in the wild, I still believed that the creatures that weren’t collected before the photos are the ones that are truly free and unfettered, and that wildness is pure wildness. Life is like Shining and flowing like a galaxy, we cannot fully represent the river of life with a single image, nor can we use a photo to represent the clouded leopard." ("Floating Light", p. 65)

 

 

2.

 

Wu Mingyi's creative forms are diverse, from right handwritten novels, left handwritten essays, and research articles-he is not only a natural writer, but also a researcher of natural writing, studying the development and genealogy of modern natural writing in Taiwan. I went to get to know "Natural Writing" and read several of his books: "Butterfly Road" (2010[2003]), "The Story of the Lost Butterfly" (2000), "Home Is So Close to the Water" (2007), "Taiwan Modern" Exploration of Natural Writing, 1980-2002" (edition) and "Man with Compound Eyes" (2011), "Liberation of Nature by Writing" series, etc.

 

What is "natural writing"? "Natural writing" is a type of writing that takes nature as the main body. "Natural writing" emphasizes "natural experience" (in Chen Jian's words), and the author must leave to observe and interact naturally. Wu Mingyi regards "natural writing" as a kind of "intellectual writing", which combines traditional natural history, natural science knowledge, ethical moral introspection, literary lyricism, and aesthetic touch. (See: "Liberation of Nature by Writing" Book 1, pages 9, 10) Wu Mingyi is a literary background and emphasizes the literary texture of writing. The above statement has pointed to the natural writing of the literary category (ie, "natural writing" in the narrow sense." Wu so Summarize the chemical role of literary nature in writing nature: "Nature writing is a type of writing that authors must devote themselves to nature for a long time. The author transforms the acquired knowledge genealogy into a literary "viewing angle", and environmental ethics is in the writing. Perhaps it becomes a more latent texture that can make the literary meaning more richly presented, and attract readers into the natural world." ("Taiwan Natural Writing Selection", p.294)

 

 

 

 

 

[Picture 1: What is "natural writing"? ]

 

3.

 

Some are afraid of Xunzhu, some are afraid of mice, I am afraid of caterpillars, even if they just glance at them from the corner of their eyes, they are all hairy. There have been such nightmares in the nightmare: in the court, there are caterpillars crawling, and there are countless piles of black and endless sensation. Every time I mentioned this dream, I always shook my head subconsciously so that the image would not be visible in my brain. It's probably because of the caterpillar. I am indifferent to the butterflies that others think are beautiful, hopelessly indifferent. Knowing that "The Mystery of Butterfly" (2000) and "Butterfly Road" (2003) are "the necessary way to understand Taiwan's natural writing" (Liu Kexiang), it seems that Wu's writing butterfly can no longer be bypassed.

 

I read "Butterfly Dao" first, and then "Butterfly History". The truth is, I wanted to choose one of the two, but the title of "Butterfly Road" is more intellectual, which suits my liking. It turns out that in addition to revealing Wu Mingyi’s "fascination" with the "mysterious" butterfly, "Midie" is also an ecological term. Wu explained that it is "the original infertility in a certain area caused by migration or natural factors (such as typhoons)." Butterflies in this area, these newly-introduced butterflies, are called fascinated butterflies. [...] The wars, see-saws, and struggles of fascinated butterflies with native species in this land often show me the patterns and processes of human races getting along." ("The Mystery of the Butterfly", pp. 171-72)

 

Wu Mingyi feels that butterflies are full of mystery, and their "wings are incredibly beautiful." Looking at them, they will be very excited. ("Mi Die Zhi", page 160) Because the wings of butterflies are covered with extremely fine scales, they belong to the "Lepidoptera" in taxonomy. "The colors on the butterfly wings are adjusted by "flavonoids", [...] But the butterfly scales do not have a chemical color, but instead reflect light to show a physical color. "("Butterfly Road", p. 42) I understand the reason for Wu's excitement. How beautiful are butterfly wings? The little gray butterfly that sounds ordinary, Wu Jian's butterfly wings, thinks of art genres, and feels very kind to people in the art circle like me. "Taiwan has more than one hundred species of small lycaenidae, and each of its ventral wings is a unique picture: the rippled small lycaenidae has a series of white waves on a light brown background. It is Ma Yuan's "Twelve Waters". The eloquence of the middle line; the green small ash disc of Fuzi's boldly splashing blue, green and red, is a arrogant brutalist; the small gray butterfly of the chess stone uses a spectroscopic stippling, and the sun and the eyes are combined when flying, while the Okinawa small gray The disc is like the overturned oil paint of an innocent child, and a freehand landscape flowing out.” ("The Legend of a Butterfly", p.138) Wings the size of a postage stamp are still natural fine paintings!

 

Reading "Butterfly Dao" and "Butterfly History", I uncovered the pages tremblingly, always afraid that I would see pictures of butterfly larvae or pupation. (Yes! I can't overcome my fear, my sight is like a marble landing and bounces away quickly!) But somehow, Wu described a scene of the life and death of a butterfly feathering, and I read it again and again. "For butterflies, emergence may not be a beautiful process described by some writers, but a tense pause between life and death. When the butterfly pupas out, grabs the abandoned body, and climbs to a waiting angle, the time is right. For them who are unable to fly, it is a condensed bead of amber. They cannot admire, covet, change and inquire from the outside world, but quietly wait for the blood to be injected into the wing veins and slowly harden. If they are lucky, the time will be two or three. Ten minutes later, they will re-flow and lead their noisy new life into the sky. If you are lucky." Butterflies that fail to emerge will become "winged ascetics," and they can only crawl throughout their lives until they are discovered by the predator. After all, for the butterfly, “flying is the realization of life.” (The Legend of the Misty Butterfly, pp. 152, 154) No wonder when Wu found a butterfly with different wings in front of his house, he longed for her to be able to fly: "A group of ants are flying with her wingless corpse against the wall." ("The Mystery of the Butterfly", p. 150)

 

Comparing the shortness and the length of the dazzling horn and the amber as a metaphor for time, I estimate how soft Wu's heart is.

 

 

4.

 

My bed is by the window, next to the top of the tree. When the birds wake up at the top of the tree at dawn, they will hum and break the silence. After ten or twenty minutes, it gradually calmed down, and they flew away one by one. Their wake-up ceremony made me hear dawn. My natural nurturing and imagination are poor. I don’t know what kind of tree the tree next to the house is, and what kind of bird the bird is. I am insensitive to sound—pitch—it can be said that my voice is not open.

 

"The term "silent night" is actually a warning sign of the loss of hearing-impaired creatures." For people who are often exposed to nature, "the world has never been quiet." ("Butterfly Road", p. 58) Reading what Wu Mingyi said, I was sweating while thinking of the American video artist Bill Viola who explained that sound is in his videos. The importance of. He said that every place has its own sound, which is the sum of the sounds of various things, which Viola calls the "under-sound" ("under-sound"). When people settle down, they can gradually hear the "under-sound". . He filmed a place, and the video was often cut according to the bottom sound there. ( https://vimeo.com/64302190 )

Wu Mingyi uses his intuition to listen carefully to the tweets of natural species, and he uses paragraphs of text and soundscapes to induce readers to open up their senses and voices.

 

"Listening to birdsong should be a kind of communication, a kind of imagination, so I suggest that you use intuition recognition (that is, don't force those sounds into words), or use whistles to imitate and have a memorable effect." ("Home Lishui" "The Edge is So Close", p. 234) For example, Wu said, "To me, the red-billed black bulbul's call is like a drop of water thrown from the air, while the gray-headed wren's voice is like a soft thread. Shuttle between the grass." ("Home Is So Close to the Water", p. 234) Wu Geng gradually heard that the red-billed black bulbul's solo "meow sound" is "a tune that remembers love and craves for a smile." , In my ears, "The voice is sticky and sweet like honey, and a bit moist." ("Butterfly Road", p. 139-40)
 

"Regarding the Taipei tree frog, I simply and abstractly said that it was the sound of "aging autumn". That sound wave would touch the sad synapses in your brain, change neurotransmitters, and stimulate the glands." ("Butterfly Path", p. 59) As for the sound of the frogs, Wu Mingyi "the dark universe in front of him suddenly exploded, and the fine audio needles over 500 Hz were shot into the skin and pierced the heart along the veins." And a group of frogs became "hundreds." A cosmic explosion traveled through light years and passed into the eardrum. The air was trembling, my blood was trembling, the ground was trembling, and it was trembling in summer." ("Butterfly Road", pages 145-46)

 

 

5.

 

Wu Mingyi said that he regarded butterflies as a friend, "For me, the enigmatic charm of butterflies lies in the fact that he is a changeable life, not a creature. I have been looking for a way to communicate with them." Journal, p. 172) Wu observes and writes about butterflies, but he does not study butterflies (won't call himself a researcher). He said that what he did was to use literary creations to present "the ideas, feelings and thoughts of getting to know another kind of life." This kind of life gave me a deep tremor, inspiration and lightness to face life when I turned my head back to face "people." (Ibid., p. 173)

Wu's attitude, he said, is close to "Weak Anthropocentrism" (Weak Anthropocentrism). "Mild anthropocentrism" was proposed by environmental ethics scholar Bryan G. Norton. He believes that, in contrast to "strong anthropocentrism, which considers humans as the core of all interests, it judges things through a felt preference." Value, moderate anthropocentrism relies on "a complete world view, treating nature with a considered preference." ("The Mystery of the Butterfly", pp. 170-71). In the in-depth prose, every twist and turn, every turning point ushered in thinking about environmental ethics and ecological care:

 

"I often think that when we criticize the thin-winged longhorn beetle that strips citrus trees as a pest, we seem to regard ourselves as the creator. It seems that God did not only create citrus trees for mankind. Longhorn beetles and citrus duck butterflies, Isn’t it the people of God? The trees that were raised for the production of lush citrus for people would gradually lose their pride in fighting against natural enemies in the jungle? They were smeared with poison, so they had to stand alone and again I can’t feel the joy of passing on the completion of life when a greedy white-eye drops their heirs on the soil.” ("The Mystery of the Butterfly", pp. 91-92)

 

"It is difficult for us to count how many raindrops have fallen in a rain. We can only intuitively face the unspeakable beauty, danger, anxiety, and destiny." (Butterfly Road, p. 244)
 

"For living things, there is no distinction between native species and exotic species, only the difference between ecological location competitors or food sources. Once they appear in the same environment due to a certain causal arrangement, only "survival" is the only goal. Every creature in and around the lake is fighting for survival. Every day, some lives die and some places are born." ("Home Is So Close to the Water", p. 219)

 

"The intention to describe the sound of frogs can sometimes be regarded as a training of imagination and language ability. It is also a way to connect the world of frogs with one's own world. It will produce a sense of intimacy that we live on the same planet together." ( "Butterfly Path", p. 59)

 

"In the cold photography, the photographer seems to have eliminated his will, but the will of the landscape itself will appear from this, and it will impact the viewer. Through the camera, human beings actually know exactly what stupid and offensive things they have done. "("Floating Light", p. 105)

 

 

6.

 

While eager to try the fashionable "natural writing", Shen Qing reined in the precipice. I sometimes go hiking in the mountains, but when I walk in nature, I don’t care about nature. When I walk on the top of the mountain, I always keep my head down, looking at nature like a piece of background, lacking the desire and motivation to observe and understand nature carefully.

 

I have read "Butterfly Road" and "Butterfly History", and I have gained more knowledge and understanding, which loosened my indifference to butterflies? I have no idea. But I know that at the time of writing this article, we were deeply caught in the ridiculous years of COVID-19 ravaging the world and queuing to buy masks in the middle of the night. It is not only a superficial inspection, but also an offense to the inspection. I also know that to know or experience nature is to practice and open up the senses, and to know second-hand nature through literary imagination. When writing the preface for "Butterfly Dao", Liu Kexiang reminded readers profoundly, "If it is purely a literary tour in a book room, I am afraid it will be difficult to truly go deep and understand the true meaning of the dialogue between natural writing and life." (page 26) ) I prefer trees. If I leave nature, I will start from getting to know trees and plants.

 

I checked, and next to my window is a small-leaved banyan that has grown into a new year.

 

 

March 2020

 

 

 

Refer to the bibliography:

Wu Mingyi, "The Legend of the Fan Butterfly". Taipei: Ryefield Publishing, 2000.

Wu Mingyi, "Butterfly Road." Taipei: Eryu Cultural Enterprise Co., Ltd., 2010 (2003).

Wu Mingyi, "Home Is So Close to the Water". Taipei: Eryu Cultural Enterprise Co., Ltd., 2007.

Wu Mingyi, "Floating Light". Taipei: New Classic Graphic Communication Co., Ltd., 2014.

Wu Mingyi, "Exploration of Modern Natural Writing in Taiwan, 1980-2002" (Book 1 of Freeing Nature by Writing). New Taipei: Summer Publication, 2012.

Wu Mingyi, "Author's Theory of Modern Nature Writing in Taiwan, 1980-2002" (Liberating Nature by Writing Book 2). New Taipei: Summer Publication, 2012.

Wu Mingyi, "The Man with Compound Eyes." Taipei: Summer Publishing House, 2011.

Editor-in-Chief Wu Mingyi, "Taiwan Natural Writing Selection". Taipei: New Classic Graphic Communication Co., Ltd., 2012 (2003).

"A Brief Reading of Wu Mingyi's Natural Writing Occasionally"

Another topic: The natural confession of a literary wanderer

魚Zine

FishZine

參與朋友

Attendee List

食塘源野網上展覽

Online Exhibition

魚Zine

FishZine 

文:黃小燕

「風景攝影是一種跋涉、一種追逐、一種人類獨有的遷徙到美的視野的衝動。」

                    ——《浮光》,頁101
               

「對蝴蝶來說,羽化可能不是一些文學家筆下美麗的過程,而是生死間緊張的頓號。」 
                    ——《迷蝶誌》,頁152


「我們難以數清一場雨落了多少枚雨珠,只能直覺面對不可言狀的美、危險、張惶與命運。」

                    ——《蝶道》,頁244

1.
 

應邀參與「藝術到家」大生圍的藝術計劃,是因為想嘗試「自然書寫」。花了些時間才攪清楚南生圍與大生圍的我,去了幾趟大生圍魚塘,感受不深,加上缺乏自然的教養 ,其實怎懂得書寫自然?於是,我回到原點,先作一次「文學臥遊」式的閱讀自然書寫,去認識「自然書寫」、及自然。

 

初識「自然書寫」,是從吳明益的《浮光》(2014)一書。對,是2014年以後的事,這是一次姍姍來遲的初識。在台北的書店偶然碰上、然後挑上《浮光》,因它談攝影 ,我喜歡閱讀攝影寫作。此書除了作者作為攝影者的剖白,亦書觸及和思考自然攝影,一個我所知不多的攝影範疇。在討論場所、地景攝影的一章,作者以美國自然書寫者John Muir對美國Yosemite國家公國的長段描述來開篇,並讚嘆Muir「以『文字攝影』勾引我們的想像力,他的筆記就像一幅幅的照片,有時拍風景,有時拍心景。」(《浮光》,頁91)

 

其實,吳明益在書中一開始便引述Ian Jeffrey的《攝影簡史》的觀點,來闡述他對攝影與自然交匯的看法。他說他被Jeffrey其中的兩個想法所「迷攝」:「首先,攝影是一種對大自然記錄自身影像能力的「發現」的關鍵技術;其次,照片就像野地採集到的標本。這兩點竟意外地完全定義了我心中的生態攝影者所要追求的:他們終其一生在發現光與相機所能捕捉的野地與野性,他們終其一生都在追獵光的標本。而他們面對自身的照片時,將會追憶、重溫那個他們曾經親臨的現場,然後他們將會發現,自己才是光與相機所捕捉的。」(《浮光》,頁28,粗體字原文所用)

 

你拍攝甚麼,說了你是甚麼人。

 

從《浮光》,我重溫了如美國地景攝影大師亞當斯(Ansel Adams)的經典月亮照片〈月昇之時〉的故事,Eadweard Muybrigde的類「時序攝影」——捕捉到馬奔跑時四足離開地面的瞬間(吳不無感慨「人類竟然這麼晚才真正關心動物的動作」),新地誌攝影「冷面」地景的批判性;也得以認識George Shiras III的夜間動物攝影、史蒂格立茲(Alfred Stieglitz) 一拍再招拍浮雲的意義、顯微攝影技術發明的來龍去脈、以至拍攝瀕危或傳說中動物(如雲豹)涵涉的殖民視角。

 

文學出身的吳明益,是自然愛好者、藝術愛好者、攝影愛好者,對拍攝自然有種種內在矛盾。如上所述,他喜見——也自我實踐——以照片代替殺生來取得自然物種標本;而「照片凝止了無時無刻都在運動的自然界」(《浮光》,頁15)使得自然能被反覆觀看、被研究、被理解。可是,「當我在野地裏行走、拍照時,我依然認為,生物沒有被收藏到照片前的樣貌,才是真正自由活着、未被定格的生靈,那野性才是純粹的野性。生命如銀河般發亮且流動,我們無法以一張影像完全代表生命之河,沒有辦法用一張照片代表雲豹。」(《浮光》,頁65)

 

 

2.

 

吳明益的創作形式多元,右手寫小說,左手寫散文、研究文章——他不單單是自然書寫者,也是自然書寫的研究者,研究臺灣現代自然寫作發展及系譜。我去認識「自然書寫」,便讀了他的書幾種:《蝶道》(2010[2003])、《迷蝶誌》(2000)、《家離水邊那麽近》(2007)、《臺灣現代自然書寫的探索, 1980-2002》(編)及《複眼人》(2011)、《以書寫解放自然》系列等。

 

甚麼是「自然書寫」?「自然書寫」是把自然作為主體的書寫類型。「自然書寫」強調「自然經驗」(陳健一語),作者要出走自然去觀察、互動。吳明益把「自然書寫」視作一種「知性書寫」,它結合傳統博物學、自然科學知識、倫理上的道德自省、文學的抒情性,以及美感的觸動。(見:《以書寫解放自然》 Book 1 ,頁9,10)吳明益是文學出身的,強調書寫的文學質地,上面的說法已指向文學範疇的自然書寫(即狹義的「自然書寫」。吳如此總結文學性於書寫自然所起的化學作用:「自然寫作是一種作者必須長期投身自然的書寫類型,作者將所獲取的知識系譜,化為一種文學的「觀看角度」,環境倫理觀在行文間或許成為更為潛伏的肌理,才能讓文學意味有更豐潤的呈現,進而吸引讀者進入自然的世界。」(《臺灣自然寫作選》,頁294)

 

 

 

 

 

[圖一:甚麼是「自然寫作」?]

 

3.

 

有人怕曱甴,有人怕老鼠,我怕毛蟲,那怕只是眼角瞟到他們的身影,便已渾身發毛。曾發過這樣的噩夢中的噩夢:在法庭內,爬滿毛毛蟲,一堆堆黑壓壓數不盡的聳動。我每次提到這個夢,總會下意識地搖搖頭,好使影像在腦中成不了形。大抵就是毛毛蟲這個原因,我對別人認為漂亮的蝴蝶無動於衷,無望的無動於衷。當知曉《迷蝶誌》(2000)、《蝶道》(2003)是「認識台灣自然寫作的必要之道」(劉克襄語),似乎已不能繞過吳寫蝴蝶。

 

我是先讀《蝶道》,再讀《迷蝶誌》。實情是,我本想二選一而已,而《蝶道》的書名較知性,合我心意。原來,「迷蝶」除了揭示吳明益對「謎樣」的蝴蝶「迷戀」之外,亦是生態學術語,吳解釋那是「因遷徙或天然因素(如颱風)所導致某個地區出現原不產於這個地區的蝴蝶,這些新移入的蝴蝶,便稱為迷蝶。[⋯]迷蝶在這塊土地與原生種的戰爭、拉鋸與掙扎,也往往讓我看到了人類族群相處的模式與歷程。」(《迷蝶誌》,頁171-72)

 

吳明益覺得蝴蝶充滿神秘感,他們的「翅翼美得不可思議」,看著他們,會激動不已。(《迷蝶誌》,頁160)由於蝴蝶的翅膀覆蓋着極細微的鱗片,他們在生物分類學上屬於「鱗翅目」。「蝶翼上的色彩是由「類黃酮」所調出,[⋯]但分蝶鱗不具化學色,而是藉反射光線來呈現物理色。」(《蝶道》,頁42)我體會到吳激動的緣由。蝶翅有多美?聽起來普通不過的小灰蝶,吳覹蝶翅而聯想到藝術流派,對我這等藝術圈中人,倍感親切。「台灣擁有超過百種的小灰蝶,每一種的腹翅面都是一幅獨特的畫:波紋小灰蝶在淡褐的底色中泛起一列列白浪,是馬遠〈十二水圖〉中線條的雄辯;伏氏綠小灰碟大膽地藍綠紅潑灑,是張狂的野獸派;棋石小灰蝶則用分光法的點畫,飛翔時讓陽光與眼睛共同完成,而沖繩小灰碟則像純真的孩子翻倒的油彩,流出的寫意風景。」(《迷蝶誌》,頁138)如郵票般大小的翅膀,還是一幅幅渾然天成的細密畫呢!

 

讀《蝶道》、《迷蝶誌》,我戰戰兢兢揭書頁,一直害怕會看到蝴蝶幼蟲或蛹化時的圖片。(是有的!我無法克服懼怕,視線如彈珠落地,急速彈開!)可不知怎的,吳描述一幕蝴蝶羽化的生關死劫,我竟一讀再讀。「對蝴蝶來說,羽化可能不是一些文學家筆下美麗的過程,而是生死間緊張的頓號。當蝴蝶蛻蛹而出,抓着被拋棄的舊軀,爬到一個等待的角度時,時間對無法飛行的他們來說,是一珠凝定的琥珀。他們無法對外界的讚嘆、覬覦、變動與詢問,只是靜靜地等血液注入翅脈,緩緩硬化。如果幸運的話,時間會在二三十分鐘後重新流動,帶領他們鼓譟的新生,衝撞天空。幸運的話。」羽化失敗的蝴蝶會淪為「帶翅的苦行者」,一生只能爬行,直至被捕食者發現為止。畢竟,對蝴蝶來說,「飛行,方是生命的實現。」(《迷蝶誌》,頁152,154)無怪當吳在家門前發現一隻身翼異處的蝴蝶,他多渴望她仍可以飛:「一群螞蟻,正帶着她無翅的屍體緣牆飛行」。(《迷蝶誌》,頁150)

 

我邊比畫頓號與琥珀作為時間之喻的短長,邊估量吳的心有多柔軟。

 

 

4.

 

我的睡床靠在窗邊,旁邊就是樹頂,天亮雀鳥在樹頂醒來,便放聲鳴囀,打破寂靜。十來二十分鐘又漸漸靜下來,牠們一一飛走了。牠們這個起床儀式,使我聽見天亮。我的自然敎養與想像力都貧乏,不知道屋旁的樹是那種樹,鳥是那類鳥,而對牠們的聲音,努力想了很久也無法恰當的比擬,只覺吵不棱登。我對聲音——音調——毫不敏感,可謂聲竅未開。

 

「『寂靜的夜』的說法,其實是一種聽力遲鈍生物喪失的警訊」。對經常接觸自然的人而言,「世界從來沒有安靜過。」(《蝶道》,頁58)讀到吳明益如是說,我邊滴汗邊想起美國錄像藝術家Bill Viola 曾解釋聲音在他的錄像的重要性。他說每處地方都有它自己的聲音,那是各種事物聲音的總和,Viola 稱之為「底聲」(“under-sound”),人好好定下來,就能漸漸聽到那「底聲」。他拍攝一處地方,錄像很多時候就是根據那裡的底聲來剪裁的。(https://vimeo.com/64302190)

吳明益用直覺對自然物種鳴叫的細心聽察,一段段文字聲景,誘導讀者把感觀打開、聲竅打開。

 

「聽鳥鳴應該是一種溝通,一種想像,因此我建議你採用直覺辨識法(就是不要硬把那些聲音化為文字),或者,用口哨聲模仿也很有記憶的效果。」(《家離水邊那麽近》, 頁234)譬如,吳說,「在我聽來,紅嘴黑鵯的鳴叫像是從空中拋下來的水珠,而灰頭鷦鶯的聲音則像是一條柔軟的線,在草叢間穿梭來去。」(《家離水邊那麽近》, 頁234) 吳更漸漸聽察到,紅嘴黑鵯獨鳴所發出「喵喵聲」,是「記憶愛情、渴求微笑的曲調」,聽在耳裡,「那聲音有蜂蜜的黏稠與甜美,又帶點潮濕。」(《蝶道》,頁139-40)
 

「關於臺北樹蛙,我乾脆抽象地說那是『衰老秋季』的聲音,那音波會打動你腦中憂傷的突觸,改變神經遞質,刺激涙腺。」(《蝶道》,頁59)至於澤蛙的鳴聲,更讓吳明益「眼前的黑暗宇宙突然爆炸了,超過五百赫的聲頻細針搬射入皮膚,順着靜脈撃刺心臟。」而一群澤蛙,成了「幾百個宇宙爆炸穿越光年傳進耳膜,空氣顫抖着,我的血液顫抖着,地面顫抖着,夏日顫抖着。」(《蝶道》,頁145-46)

 

 

5.

 

吳明益自言把蝴蝶當做朋友,「對我來說,蝴蝶謎般的魅惑,在於他是一個多變的生命,而不是生『物』,我一直尋找著與他們交往的方式。」(《迷蝶誌》,頁172)吳觀察、書寫蝴蝶,可不是研究蝴蝶(不會以研究者自居),他說他所做的是用文學創作去呈現「結識另一種生命的想法、感受與思維。而這種生命,給了我回頭面對『人』時,深深的戰慄、啟發與面對生命的輕盈姿態。」(同上,頁173)

吳這種取態,他說是靠近「溫和的人類中心主義」(Weak Anthropocentrism)。「溫和人類中心主義」由環境倫理學者Bryan G. Norton提出,他認為,相對於「強烈的人類中心主義以人類為一切利益的考量核心,透過感受的喜好(a felt preference)」來判斷事物的價值,溫和的人類中心主義憑藉「完整的世界觀,以省察過的喜好(a considered preference)對待自然。」(《迷蝶誌》,頁170-71)省察是吳自然書寫的轄心,在吳的深度散文中,每多迂迴曲折,每個轉折處迎來對環境倫理、生態關懷的思考:

 

「我常想,當我們指斥對柑橘樹進行環狀剝皮的薄翅天牛為害蟲時,似乎已將自己視為造物主。上帝似乎並非只為人類創造柑橘樹。天牛與柑橘鳯蝶,難道不是上帝的子民?單替人們生產豐美柑橘而被豢養的樹,恐怕也漸漸失去在叢林裏與天敵搏鬥而生存下來的驕傲吧?他們身上塗抹劇毒,於是便只好孤獨地站立,並再也無法感受到,當一隻嘴饞的綠繡眼將他們的子嗣落在泥土上時,那種傳續生命完成的快意。」(《迷蝶誌》,頁91-92)

 

「我們難以數清一場雨落了多少枚雨珠,只能直覺面對不可言狀的美、危險、張惶與命運。」(《蝶道》,頁244)
 

「對生物來說,本無原生種與外來種之分,只有生態區位的競爭者或食物來源的分別。一旦因某種因緣安排下出現在同一個環境,只有『求生』才是唯一目標。湖裡和湖邊的每一種生物都在為生存而搏鬥,每天都有一些生命死去,一些地方生命出生。」(《家離水邊那麽近》,頁219)

 

「意圖形容蛙類的鳴聲有時候可以視為一種想像與語言文字能力的訓練,也是一種把蛙的世界和自己世界建立聯繫的方式,會產生了我們共居同一枚星球的親切感。」(《蝶道》,頁59)

 

「在冷面的攝影中攝影者看似消滅了自己的意志,地景自身的意志卻會由此出現,撞擊觀看者。透過相機,人類其實完全知道自己做過甚麼愚騃、冒犯之事。」(《浮光》,頁105)

 

 

6.

 

在躍躍欲試時髦的「自然書寫」之際,深慶自己懸崖勒馬。我間或去行山,不過走在自然,卻心不在自然——走在山頭時總是低著頭,放眼的自然不過如一片又一片的背景,缺乏仔細觀察、認識自然的慾望與動力。

 

讀過《蝶道》和《迷蝶誌》,長了知識,多了理解,鬆動了我對蝴蝶的無動於衷?我不知道。但我知道,寫這篇文章時,我們深陷新冠狀病毒(COVID-19)肆虐全球、三更半夜去排隊搶購口罩的荒謬歲月,如果人云亦云地說這是人與自然失衡、脫軌的彰顯,不僅是粗淺的省察,更是對省察的冒犯。我也知道,認識或體晤大自然是靠身體力行和打開感觀,通過文學想像認識的是二手自然。為《蝶道》撰序時,劉克襄語重深長地提醒讀者,「若純然是書房間的文學臥遊,恐怕就難以真正地深入,領會自然寫作和生活間對話的真正奧義。」(頁26)我較喜歡樹,要是出走自然,會從好好認識樹木植物出發。

 

我查問了,在我窗旁的,是棵初長成的細葉榕。

 

 

2020年3月

 

 

 

參閱書目:

吳明益,《迷蝶誌》。台北:麥田出版,2000。

吳明益,《蝶道》。台北:二魚文化事業有限公司,2010 (2003)。

吳明益,《家離水邊那麽近》。台北:二魚文化事業有限公司,2007。

吳明益,《浮光》。台北:新經典圖文傳播有限公司,2014。

吳明益,《臺灣現代自然書寫的探索, 1980-2002》(以書寫解放自然 Book 1)。新北:夏日出版,2012。

吳明益,《臺灣現代自然書寫的作家論, 1980-2002》(以書寫解放自然 Book 2)。新北:夏日出版,2012。

吳明益,《複眼人》。台北:夏日出版社,2011。

吳明益主編,《臺灣自然寫作選》。台北:新經典圖文傳播有限公司,2012 (2003)。

《淺讀吳明益的自然書寫偶得》

又題:文學臥遊者的自然告白書