Fish Zine

FishZine

Participating friends

Attendee List

Fish Zine

FishZine 

 

Text: Xiaotong

 

Three years ago, Winnie came to Dashengwei for the first time because of work. Before that, she was a "very urban" urbanite and had never set foot in the villages of Hong Kong. When I came to Tai Sang Wai, she was shocked when she saw neat rows of low village houses, a piece of farmland behind the village houses, and a very large fish pond behind the farmland. It turned out that Hong Kong still has such tranquility as a paradise. Village. At that time, she wanted to know the life of the villagers here.

 

Last year, shortly after the birth of her child, she had a job opening and signed up for the residency program. Although she couldn't spend the night in Dashengwei because she had to take care of the children, she often came to this village to find inspiration, chat with the villagers, and observe the lives of the villagers. She was most impressed by the blackhead fish in Dashengwei. This kind of food seemed to represent this place. She often meets fishermen who breed aconite by the fish pond. She finds it very interesting to see that they use white bread, milk powder, doll noodles, tofu residue and other foods as food for the aconite.

 

The octopus became an important inspiration for her, so she designed the work into six dishes, hoping that after the participants tasted these six dishes one by one, they would feel as if they had experienced the life of a octopus.

 

The first dish is called "Tang Yuan", and she hopes to express the state of the blackhead fish just born in the fish pond. There will be a piece of blue ice in the dishes of the participants. The ice is made of mint leaves, limes and some seasonal fruits of Dashengwei. After the ice slowly melts, the participants need to use the drinking straw to smoke the blue point by point. Colored water, like the action of a blackhead fish absorbing water.

 

The second dish is called "Daofeng". It is a toast-like snack. The main ingredients are bread, bean curd residue, etc., as well as some doll noodles and rice noodles. She hopes that the participants will eat the usual food of mullet. Eating a feeling of messy food.

 

Every three times when she goes to Tai Sang Wai, Winnie will see the shovel truck twice. This shovel truck is her most unforgettable sight. For the first time, she saw a shovel truck driving to the beautiful scenery of the fish pond in the distance, and unexpectedly dumped a large amount of construction waste on the side of the road. Every time she saw the shovel truck, there was another pile on the roadside of the fish pond. Construction waste. She was very angry, but helpless, thinking of how nature was destroyed by human activities.

 

The third dish of the aconitum feast is called "City". This is a dessert-a marshmallow, with a match placed next to it. After the participants strike a match, they can lightly bake the marshmallows before eating. As soon as I bite it down, there are some uncooked doll noodles in the soft marshmallow. She hopes that this gustatory shock will make participants imagine something soft and sweet on the surface. It turns out that there will be hard objects inside and will be hurt by fire. She hopes to express the harmful behavior of human activities to nature.

 

The fourth dish is called "pollution". This is a white fish jelly made with blackhead fish soup. The fish soup does not use any seasonings. Participants can first taste the original taste of blackhead fish, and then she will Give participants various flavor powders of different colors and flavors, including bamboo charcoal powder, green tea powder, chili powder, etc. Participants can freely mix various flavor powders and sprinkle them into a fish-shaped mold. She guessed that the participants would end up with a very messy taste, which was the effect she wanted, hoping to express that the octopus was living in the muddy water.

 

——She remembers the history of Taishengwei mentioned by the villagers. In the past, the fishermen here used the Jiwei method to raise fish, but it was a pity that the water quality was polluted due to human activities, and the fishermen changed to use fish ponds to raise fish.

 

The first four dishes are based on Winnie's observations at Tai Shengwei, while the last two dishes are her imagination and hopes.

 

The fifth dish is called "Rebirth". Winnie guessed that the participants would want to clean up their taste buds, so she prepared a glass of lemonade for them. After everyone drank the water, the taste they had eaten disappeared. She wanted to take this Express everything to start again.

 

The last dish is called "Flying Fish". She provides salted octopus fish cubes and various ingredients for participants to make a salted fish rice ball. Participants tasted the taste of blackhead fish together. After eating the oyster fish, she thought of the friendly old people in the village, who always used "food" to open up the conversation box. She saw the villager drying salted fish and asked the other party how to cook it. The other party answered in great detail. Another villager passed by and expressed his opinion on cooking salted fish. The conversation between her and the villagers is inseparable from the food in the village.

af5664c2-4dfb-4006-9b58-ba3dc9870885_edi

魚Zine

FishZine

參與朋友

Attendee List

食塘源野網上展覽

Online Exhibition

魚Zine

FishZine 

 

文:小桐

 

三年前,魏思敏(Winnie)因為工作而第一次來到大生圍。此前,她是一個「非常城市」的城市人,從未踏足香港的鄉村。來到大生圍,第一次看見非常整齊的幾排低矮村屋,村屋後的一片農田,以及農田後面非常遼闊的魚塘,她感到非常震驚,原來香港仍有這種寧靜得如同世外桃源的村落。當時,她就想了解村民在這裡的生活。

 

去年,她的小孩出生不久,她有了一個工作空檔,報名參加駐村計劃。雖然因為要照顧小孩而無法在大生圍過夜,但為了尋找靈感,她還是常常來到這條村,與村民聊天,觀察村民的生活。她印象最深是大生圍的烏頭魚,這種食物好像代表了這個地方。她常常在魚塘邊遇見養殖烏頭的漁民,看見他們用白麵包、奶粉、公仔麵、豆腐渣等各種食物作為烏頭魚的食糧,她覺得很有趣。

 

烏頭魚成了她的重要靈感,於是她把作品設計成六道菜,希望參加者一道一道品嚐完這六款菜式後,會覺得自己如同經歷了一條烏頭魚的一生。

 

第一道菜名叫「塘源」,她希望表達烏頭魚在魚塘裡剛剛出生的狀態。參加者的碟子裡會有一塊藍色的冰,冰是由薄荷葉、青檸及一些大生圍時令水果作為材料,冰慢慢融化後,參加者需要用飲管逐點逐點吸食著藍色的水,如同烏頭魚吸水的動作。

 

第二道菜名叫「稻風」,是一碟類似多士的小食,主要食材就是麵包、豆腐渣等,還有一些公仔麵與米粉,她希望參加者吃到烏頭魚平日的食糧,同時吃到一種食糧雜亂的感覺。

 

每三次到大生圍,Winnie有兩次都會見到鏟泥車,這部鏟泥車是她最難以忘懷的景象。第一次,她在遠處看見一架鏟泥車駛至魚塘美景,竟然在路邊傾倒了一大堆建築廢料,以後每次看見鏟泥車,魚塘的路邊又多了一堆建築廢料。她很生氣,卻又無可奈何,聯想到大自然如何被人類活動破壞。

 

烏頭宴的第三道菜名叫「城市」,這是一碟甜品——一顆棉花糖,它旁邊擺了一支火柴,參加者劃火柴後,可以用火光把棉花糖微微烘燶再進食,一咬下去,柔軟的棉花糖裡面竟有一些未烹煮的公仔麵。她希望這份味覺衝擊令參加者想像表面柔軟甜美的東西,原來裡面會有硬物、又會受到火的傷害,她希望藉此表達人為活動對大自然的傷害行為。

 

第四道菜名叫「污染」,這是一個用烏頭魚魚湯雪藏而成的白色魚凍,魚湯沒有使用任何調味料,參加者可首先品嚐烏頭魚最原初的味道,然後,她會把各種不同顏色與味道的味粉給予參加者,包括竹炭粉、綠茶粉、辣椒粉等等,參加者可自由發揮地把各種味粉混合起來,再灑進一個魚型模具裡。她猜想參加者最後會得到一種非常混亂的味道,這是她想要的效果,希望表達烏頭魚在混濁的水質裡生活。

 

——她記得村民所說的大生圍歷史,從前這裡的漁民是用基圍的方法養魚,可惜後來水質因人為活動而受污染,漁民才改為使用魚塘的方式養魚。

 

頭四道菜是Winnie在大生圍的觀察,而後兩道菜則是她的想像與寄望。

 

第五道菜名叫「重生」,Winnie猜想參加者此時會很想清理自己的味蕾,便為他們準備一杯檸檬水,各人喝水後,曾經吃過的味道消失了,她想藉此表達一切重新開始。

 

最後一道菜名叫「飛魚」,她提供烏頭魚鹹魚粒及各種配料,供參加者自行製作一個鹹魚飯團,飯團成型後,她會把飯團放在爐裡稍稍加熱,再讓參加者一起品嚐烏頭魚的味道。吃著烏頭魚粒,她想起了村裡友善的老人家,彼此總是用「食」來打開話題匣子。她看見村民在曬鹹魚,問對方要怎樣煮,對方非常詳盡地回答,另一村民路過,也發表了自己對煮鹹魚的見解。她與村民的話題,離不開村裡的食物。