Fish Zine

FishZine

Participating friends

Attendee List

Fish Zine

FishZine 

Text: Xiaotong

 

Shi Jiayin (A Shi) wants to make the reeds from the Dashengwei fish pond into a strip of drinking straws, and then stack the drinking straws into a small wall for those who come to visit to take it away and use it. Reed stems, a natural material, were originally used to make drinking straws, but the material and production process were too slow, and later they were replaced by plastic drinking straws.

 

On the day of the visit, Shi took a bag of dried sweet potatoes and came to the pond of the Dashengwei fish pond. Floating insects, as well as those reeds floating in the wind by the fish pond.

 

She wants to use reeds to make art. Since visiting Taishengwei, staying in the village, and getting along with villagers early last year, she has often heard villagers talk about reeds, saying that once the fish ponds are abandoned, the reeds will grow rapidly. If fishermen want to use the fish ponds again, It takes a lot of time and manpower to clear the reeds. In the eyes of fishermen, reeds are such a negative weed. However, once, Shi walked to a deserted fish pond and saw tall reeds drifting in the wind, and flowers grew from the reeds. By coincidence, a group of sheep raised by villagers came over to eat the reeds. , The scenery in front of you is very beautiful.

 

In the past two years, Shi started to be interested in weaving because he pierced fire dragons in the village of Pingche and danced fire dragons during the Mid-Autumn Festival. When he saw reeds in the fish pond, he felt that it could also be used to make some hand-made weaving. She didn't want the exhibits she made to be useless after participating in the exhibition. Instead, she took a fancy to reed because it is beautiful, a natural material, and a unique product of endless fish ponds. Using reeds, she also felt as if she was helping to clean up the weeds.

 

"Because of this place and this material, you can do such a thing." She hopes that her work can make people feel the peace and daily life of Dashengwei. At the same time, she hopes that this work will give people some experience, "I think experience is very important, because experience makes it easy for you to remember. It may be smelling some taste or eating another kind of food, and you will remember what you have done."

 

The "experience" she remembers most about Tai Sang Wai is also related to food. Once, after Aunt Lan fished out a lot of fish in the fish pond, she followed Aunt Lan to learn how to stun the fish, smash the fish and clean it again. This is the first time she has done this in her life, so she is deeply impressed. Later, Aunt Lan used these fish to make fish soup. She drank it and found it very delicious, so she always remembered it.

 

The first time she came to Dashengwei two years ago was her first close encounter with fish ponds. At that time, she spent a lot of time getting to know the villagers and learning cooking skills from the villagers, and found that most of the villagers here are very researched on food. In her eyes, the "research" is to know where to buy ingredients and how to make fish. Clean, know when to dry salted fish and so on. "Such subtle wisdom is actually very great. It is wisdom gained from experience."

 

She still remembered that when she first came to Tai Sang Wai, she often saw villagers still cooking with firewood. After the New Year, she learned how to make rice cakes with the villagers, and then steamed the rice cakes, radish cakes, and taro cakes with the villagers over firewood. When following the villagers to collect and wash the fish, she heard the villagers discuss that the fish ponds may soon be left unattended, and more and more fish ponds are left unused. At the same time, she knows that the disappeared fish ponds will not only affect people’s lives, but also affect the previous ones. Migratory birds that come to forage. Fish ponds have affected many lives, but if the people who came to visit explained these principles, she believed that many people would not listen carefully. Only some objects, such as reed drinking straws, allow visitors to experience something and have some connection with Dashengwei.

 

She cherishes the villages in Hong Kong. It originated from an "Empty City Project" that she collaborated with her friends eight years ago. They used some idle spaces in Hong Kong as performance venues. It was time for the Northeast New Territories development plan. The villagers also wanted someone to care about their villages. So I came to the village school-run art festivals in Ping Che, Kwu Tung North and Fanling North. "It often takes a lot of money to rent some places to do art, but you see that many places are empty, and I think it can be used." Eight years ago, she was still a city person through and through, and she still felt that the soil was really dirty and the insects were terrifying. , But when she wandered a lot in the countryside and heard stories from villagers about raising pigs and chickens in the past, she felt that apart from the urban side, Hong Kong also had a completely different and beautiful space, but it was facing demolition.

 

She didn't want everyone to pay attention to these places before the village was cleared, so she tried to make different artistic creations in the village to attract others to come and walk, at least to see what the country was like. Therefore, she came to Dashengwei three years ago.

sze_花絮2.jpeg

魚Zine

FishZine

參與朋友

Attendee List

食塘源野網上展覽

Online Exhibition

魚Zine

FishZine 

文:小桐

 

史嘉茵(阿史)要把大生圍魚塘的蘆葦,製作成一條條飲管,再把飲管堆成一道小小的牆,供前來參觀的人取走使用。蘆葦莖這種天然物料,原本就是用來做飲管的,可是取材和生產過程太慢,後來就被塑膠飲管取代了。

 

訪問那日,阿史拿著一包蕃薯乾,來到大生圍魚塘的塘邊,坐在矮樹樹蔭覆蓋的草地上,靜看著魚塘上空許多候鳥正在捕魚,草上的飄蟲,以及魚塘邊那些隨風飄動的蘆葦。

 

她想用蘆葦來製作藝術品。自從前年初來到訪大生圍、駐村、與村民相處,她常常聽見村民談到蘆葦這種植物,說是魚塘一旦荒廢了,蘆葦就會極速生長,如果漁民要再次使用魚塘,就要動用很多時間與人力才能清走蘆葦。漁民眼中,蘆葦是一種如此負面的雜草。然而有次,阿史走到一個荒廢的魚塘,卻看見長得高高的蘆葦在隨風飄曳,蘆葦還長出了一朵朵花,湊巧有一群村民所養的羊走了過來吃蘆葦,眼前的景色非常漂亮。

 

這一兩年,阿史因為在坪輋這條村落紮火龍、在中秋節舞火龍,而開始對編織有興趣,在魚塘看見蘆葦,就覺得也可以用來做一點編織手作。她不想參展後,自己製作的展品是沒有用途的,而看中了蘆葦,是因為它很漂亮,是一種自然物料,同時又是魚塘源源不絕的獨特產物。使用蘆葦,她也覺得好像是在幫忙清理雜草。

 

「是因為有這個地方,這種物料,你才可以做一件這樣的事。」她希望自己的作品是可以令人感受到大生圍的平靜和日常生活。同時,她希望這項作品會令人有一些經歷,「我覺得經驗很重要,因為經驗令你容易記得,可能是嗅到一些味道或再吃一種食物,你會記得你曾經做過甚麼。」

 

她最記得的大生圍「經驗」也和食物有關。有次,蘭姨在魚塘撈出一大堆魚後,她跟著蘭姨學習如何把魚弄暈、再劏魚和清潔。這是她人生第一次做這件事,所以印象甚深。後來蘭姨用這些魚來煲了魚湯,她喝著,覺得非常美味,於是一直記得。

 

前兩年第一次來大生圍,是她第一次近距離接觸魚塘。那時,她用了很多時間認識村民,向村民學習煮食技巧,發現這裡的村民大多對飲食很有研究——在她眼裡的「研究」就是知道食材在哪裡購買、怎樣才算把魚清洗乾淨、知道在甚麼風向時曬鹹魚等等。「如此細微的智慧其實很偉大,是累積經驗而來的智慧。」

 

她還記得最初來大生圍時,常常看見村民仍是用柴火煮食。過年了,她跟村民學做年糕,再與村民一起用柴火蒸年糕、蘿蔔糕、芋頭糕。跟隨村民劏魚、洗魚時,她聽見村民討論魚塘可能很快就沒有人打理,愈來愈多魚塘荒廢,她同時知道消失的魚塘除了會影響人的生活,也會影響前來覓食的候鳥。魚塘影響了很多生命,但如果向前來參觀的人解說這些大道理,她相信很多人都不會仔細聆聽。惟有用一些物品,如蘆葦飲管,讓參觀者經歷一些東西,與大生圍有些聯繫。

 

她珍惜香港的鄉村,源於八年前與朋友合作的一個「空城計劃」,當年他們利用香港的一些閒置空間做表演場地,時值新界東北發展計劃,村民也想有人關心自己的村落,他們就來到了坪輋、古洞北、粉嶺北這三個地方的村校辦藝術節。「做藝術常常要用很多錢去租一些地方,但你又眼見很多地方空了,我覺得可以利用。」八年前,她仍是一個徹頭徹尾的城市人,仍覺得泥土真髒、昆蟲真恐怖,但當她在鄉村遊走多了,聽村民說回從前養豬、養雞等故事,又覺得香港除了城市一面,也有一個截然不同的美麗空間,卻面臨清拆。

 

她不希望大家在鄉村清拆前,才留意這些地方,於是嘗試在村裡做不同的藝術創作,吸引別人進來走走,至少看看鄉村是個甚麼地方。因此,她在三年前來到大生圍。