Fish Zine

FishZine

Participating friends

Attendee List

Fish Zine

FishZine 

 

Text: Xiaotong

 

Brandon Chan is going to be a food specimen house about Tai Sang Wai. When I first arrived at Tai Shengwei, I had the impression that every household was making food at home, such as drying salted fish and peels, and many villagers were growing vegetables. In short, everyone has their own way of handling food. Villagers also use the fruits of fruit trees to make wine. He gets along with the villagers a lot and hears more stories about food, and these stories make him feel that the "eating process" of nature is interlinked. People connect fish and fish connect birds. He hopes to solidify the process of "eating". How about making the food into specimens, and then using the specimens to tell the story of the food in this village?

 

When he first entered the village, he didn't plan in advance what works he would do at the art festival, because he didn't want to bring an idea into the village purely, and then leave after finishing the idea. He feels that "residential" is far more important than "creation", so we must first get to know the villagers and feel the countryside well.

 

He still remembered his first impression of Tai Sang Wai, that he saw a lot of food: fish in the fish pond, grass by the fish pond, bread crumbs for feeding the fish, etc. There were also different fruit trees planted next to the fish pond, and some came to eat it. Birds with fish.

 

Since October, he has come to the village after he gets off work every Friday night. Although on the whole, he has not lived in the village for a long time, but through the food, he has learned some interesting stories of the villagers, such as a certain villager on the side of the road. Some grasses can be used as medicine-medicine, but also a kind of food.

 

He also remembered that when the fisherman Aunt Lan cooked the pork soup, he chopped the pork very finely. It was different from the soup in his house where a large piece of pork was put into the soup. The handling of pork in this way had some ideas behind Aunt Lan. His neighbor, Cheng Ge, a villager, took great care of him, and when he saw that he didn't have a refrigerator, he borrowed one from him. When he planted mustard greens, he would also pick them off and teach him how to pickle the mustard greens into sauerkraut. Cheng's approach is different from what he usually sees in the city. In cooking, the uniqueness of each person is hidden.

 

Every evening, every household is cooking. When he walks in a straight alley, he always smells what every household is cooking, and he cooks the rice by himself, but Aunt Lan will take some of the soup when he cooks the soup. Give it to him. When the grown-up brother sees that he has no vegetables to eat, he will share a little with the mustard greens he has just harvested. After learning to pickle sauerkraut for a week, Cheng gave him the pickled sauerkraut. He used it to fry beef. When he saw that he only had this little food, he was afraid that he was not full enough, so he harvested one more corn from the farmland for him.

 

Once, he ate the fish she raised herself at Aunt Lan's house, and left the fish bones as a specimen. Once again, he cooked red bean paste pie in the neighborhood. Brother Cheng also cooked cassava syrup for him to try, and he saved a little more to make a specimen. Because of the specimens, he will remember the stories of these foods.

 

He still remembered that he walked into Dashengwei the first night, and originally wanted to ask Aunt Lan to get the key and then go to the house in the village, but Aunt Lan forgot to make an appointment with him, and was already out for dinner happily in the afternoon. He had to wait for Aunt Lan in the main alley of the village. It was dusk. After dinner, the villagers felt very nervous when they saw the stranger in the night, and kept asking him what he was here for. It turned out that in Dashengwei, a small population, every family knows each other. Whenever a stranger enters the village, they will communicate with each other. He felt that the neighborhood relationship in this village was simple and close, and at the same time, he reminded himself that he must become a part of this village in the future, and the villagers would no longer be wary of seeing him.

 

Later, he cooked red bean paste pie neighborhood, just to get to know the villagers more and try to use food to open up the conversation box between people. He observed that the township office at the entrance of the village is a gathering place for villagers. There are many people in the township office after eating at noon and before cooking at six o'clock. If he cooks some food during this time, everyone will be full. Interested in eating, but sugar water is probably always popular. So for the first time, he cooked barley, yuba, eggs and syrup, thinking that everyone would want to eat it, but the old people in the village said barley was "cold" and refused to eat it.

 

Next time, he cooked red bean peel syrup. This time, the villagers were willing to drink syrup. Brother Cheng also exchanged self-cooked sugar water with him. He bought the red beans into the village outside, and the peels were dried by himself.

 

Every time he walked into Tai Sang Wai, he collected food, collected stories, dehydrated and dried the food that he planned to make into specimens. There is so much food in Dashengwei. Every time he takes it away in large quantities like a takeaway. When he brings the food back to his studio in the city to make specimens, he still seems to smell the food in Dashengwei.

食物標本屋模型.JPG

魚Zine

FishZine

參與朋友

Attendee List

食塘源野網上展覽

Online Exhibition

魚Zine

FishZine 

 

文:小桐

 

陳百堅(Brandon)要做一間關於大生圍的食物標本屋。初到大生圍的印象,就是家家戶戶都在自家製作食物,如在曬鹹魚、果皮,又有很多村民在種菜,總之就是每個人都有自己的方法處理食物。村民也會用果樹的果實釀酒。他與村民相處多了,聽見更多關於食物的故事,而這些故事令他感到大自然的「進食過程」是環環相扣的,人連繫魚,魚連繫鳥。他希望把「食」的過程凝固下來,不如把食物製成標本、再用標本細說這條村的食物故事?

 

最初進村,他沒有預先計劃要在藝術節做甚麼作品,因為他不希望自己是純粹把一個想法帶進村裡,完成這個想法便走。他覺得「駐村」遠較「創作」重要,所以首先要認識村民和好好感受鄉郊。

 

他仍記得對大生圍的第一印象,就是看見很多食物:魚塘裡的魚、魚塘邊的草、餵魚的麵包糠等等,魚塘旁邊還種了不同的果樹,也有前來吃魚的雀鳥。

 

自從十月開始,他每星期五晚下班後,就前來駐村,雖然整體來說,並沒有在村裡居住很長時間,但通過食物,他知道了一些村民的有趣故事,例如路邊某些草可以用來入藥——藥,也是一種食物。

 

他又記得漁民蘭姨煲豬肉湯時,會把豬肉切得非常細碎,與他家裡煲湯會把一大塊豬肉放進湯裡不一樣,這樣處理豬肉,背後有蘭姨的一些想法。而他的鄰居村民成哥,則是非常照顧他,見他沒有雪櫃,就借他一個。種了芥菜,也會摘下來,教他如何把芥菜醃製成為酸菜。成哥的做法與他平日在城市所見的不一樣。煮食裡,藏著每個人的獨特性。

 

每到黃昏,家家戶戶都在煮飯,他走在筆直的大巷時,總會嗅到各家各戶都在煮甚麼,而他則是自己煮飯,不過蘭姨煲了湯,會拿一點分給他,而成哥見他沒有菜吃,就會拿著剛收割的芥菜分他一點。學習醃酸菜的一星期後,成哥把醃好的酸菜拿給他,他用來炒牛肉,成哥見他只有這麼一點食物,怕他不夠飽,就再從農田收割多一條粟米給他。

 

有次,他在蘭姨的家吃了她親自養的魚,便留下魚骨來做標本。又有一次,他煮紅豆沙派街坊,成哥也煮了木薯糖水給他試試,他又留了一點來做標本。因為標本,他會記得這些食物的故事。

 

他仍記得第一晚走進大生圍,原本是要問蘭姨取鑰匙再到駐村住的房屋,只是蘭姨忘記約了他,下午已高高興興地外出吃飯。他只好在村裡的大巷等待蘭姨。那是一個黃昏,村民吃過晚飯,看見夜色裡的這個陌生人,覺得很緊張,不斷問他是來做甚麼的。原來人口不多的大生圍,真是家家戶戶都相識,一見有陌生人進村,就會互相通傳。他感到這條村的鄰里關係是簡單而密切的,而同時,他提醒自己在以後必須成為這條村的一部份,村民不會再因為看見他而警惕。

 

後來他煮紅豆沙派街坊,正是為了多認識村民,嘗試用食物打開人與人之間的話題匣子。他觀察到村口的鄉公所是村民聚集的地方,在中午吃飯後至六時煮飯前,鄉公所都有很多人,如果他在這段時間煮一些食物來,大家吃飽飯了,未必有興趣吃,但糖水大概是時時刻刻都受歡迎的。於是第一次,他煮了薏米腐竹雞蛋糖水,以為大家都會想吃,可是村裡的老人家卻說薏米「寒」,不肯吃。

 

下一次,他煮了紅豆果皮糖水,這次,村民都願意喝糖水了。成哥還跟他交換自煮的糖水。紅豆是他在外面買進村裡的,而果皮則是他自行曬的。

 

每次走進大生圍,他都是收集食物、收集故事,把打算做成標本的食物脫水、風乾。大生圍的食物實在太多,每次他都像買外賣一樣一盒盒的大批帶走,把食物帶回城市裡的工作室製作標本時,他仍彷彿嗅到大生圍食物的味道。