fishpond2019_ori.png
fishpond2019_V4.jpg

In January 2018, Art Home and the Hong Kong Bird Watching Club held the first "Fish Pond Yuanye Art Festival" , hoping to share the concept of natural education and sustainable life with the public through artistic creation.

There is a friend who has been engaged in nature education for many years in the art festival team. She noticed that the traditional guided appreciation education focuses on explaining ecological knowledge and the audience is limited. Therefore, she imagined other possibilities of nature education: the integration of artistic creation into nature education may make More people feel it, so they take the initiative to cherish nature.

In the first art festival, we invited artists to create in Dashengwei in their own ways, such as traditional fishing nets with ideas derived from the ecological chain of fish ponds, sculptures of pee boys silently by humans, and songs composed for life in fish ponds. , Pond mud birds from fish ponds, wing sculptures that shade the fish pond passers-by, short films reflecting on the ecological chain, etc., combined with ecological guided tours and various workshops, present participants with different aspects of Tai Sang Wai.

Fortunately, the art festival received a good response.

In January 2019, we will once again hold an art festival in Tai Sang Wai, with the theme of "Luotang Yuanye Art Festival", hoping to let the participants live in "Luotang" for learning, and participate in a more diversified and active way in.

 

"Luotang Yuanye Art Festival" will include three main parts:

We sincerely invite you to appreciate the creation of "Luotang Yuanye Art Festival" on January 19 and 20, 2019, participate in workshops, guided tours and other activities, "fall in the pond" together, and learn in nature!

About 30 to 40 years ago, the Fairview Garden next to Tai Sang Wai was a fish pond area. Due to construction works, local residents were arranged to live in Tai Sang Wai next door. There are currently about 70 residences in Tai Sang Wai, and the elderly also account for the majority. Among them, only 3 to 4 households are engaged in fish farming.

 

The Tai Sang Wai Fish Pond is located in the Ramsar Convention Wetland, adjacent to the Mai Po Nature Reserve. The construction of this place is strictly regulated by the government. The government will often send inspections. If fish farmers need to build new sheds to store their utensils, It also needs to apply to the government and is subject to strict supervision by the government.

 

There are currently about 40 fish ponds in Tai Sang Wai with a water depth of about 2 to 6 meters. The famous fish pond in Deep Bay is Yuen Long Aconitum, which accounts for about 5% of the supply of Hong Kong’s freshwater fish market. As early as the 1940s, the fish farming industry in Hong Kong mostly operated in the form of kewai. By introducing seawater with shrimp fry and fry in the Deep Bay, the seafood was raised in the coastal kewei. However, due to the pollution of the Deep Bay water, fish farmers have switched to fish ponds. There are some containers or bamboo sheds around the fish ponds for storage of supplies. Many of them used to be like the common water sheds in Tai O. In the fish pond, we can see different fish farming equipment, such as aerators, feed machines, fish nets, wooden frames for placing food, etc.

 

Fish ponds regularly have a shoveling process to eliminate bacteria that accumulate in the water and soil. Generally, after harvesting in autumn and winter, the fish ponds will be drained and dried, and then bulldozers will be used to shovel the ponds. Migratory birds will take the opportunity to forage during this time. With the change of seasons, birds often come to forage in Taishengwei. Chi-heron and Great Egret are common birds in Taishengwei.

 

In order to improve the economic benefits of fish ponds, fishermen also use the fertile pond mud to grow fruit trees, such as big pineapple, yellow bark, and mulberry trees. The tea fruits wrapped in mulberry leaves are the specialty snacks of the villagers in Dashengwei.

Beginning in 2012, the Hong Kong Bird Watching Society has received funding from the Environment and Conservation Fund to launch a pilot project of nature conservation management agreement in fish ponds in the northwestern New Territories. Through cooperation with local fish farmers, habitat management work has been carried out on fish ponds of more than 600 hectares to improve And improve the ecological value of fish ponds, maintain the attraction to wild animals, especially attract waterbirds to inhabit and forage. In addition, fish ponds are also breeding or habitats for amphibians, reptiles, mammals, and insects (such as dragonflies, fireflies, etc.). This ecologically beneficial operation of fish ponds is of great ecological value. The purpose of the management agreement is to achieve an ecological balance in all aspects, including humans, birds, and other living things, and each meets its needs. In 2017, the plan was extended for two years, with enhanced content including ecological surveys and education and publicity, and organizing different types to increase public participation and awareness of fish ponds and wetland conservation.

Hong Kong Fish Pond Ecological Conservation Project Website

sponsor:

Co-organizer:

LOGO_2018_H-transparent_background.png

Co-organizer:

Ticket purchase partner:

Tai Sang Wai Village

20161222_182559_bktGkvV8iV_f.png

About Tai Sang Wai

About "Hong Kong Fish Pond Ecological Conservation Project"

2018年1月,藝術到家和香港觀鳥會舉辦第一次的《魚塘源野藝術節》,期望透過藝術創作,跟大眾分享自然教育、永續生活的理念。

藝術節的團隊中有一位從事自然教育多年的朋友,她留意到傳統的導賞教育偏重講解生態知識,受眾有限,因此想像自然教育的其他可能性:在自然教育中融入藝術創作,或許會令更多人有所感受,從而更主動去珍惜大自然。

在第一次的藝術節,我們邀請藝術家以各自擅長的方式在大生圍創作,例如意念源自魚塘生態鏈的傳統漁網、幽人類一默的小便男孩雕塑、為魚塘生活而譜的歌曲、源自魚塘的塘泥小鳥、為魚塘路人遮蔭的翅膀雕塑、對生態鏈作出反思的短片等等,配合生態導賞和各類工作坊,為參加者呈現大生圍的不同面向。

慶幸藝術節獲得不錯的迴響。

2019年1月,我們將再次在大生圍舉辦藝術節,以《落塘源野藝術節》為題,希望讓參加者寓「落塘」於學習,用更多元化、更主動的方式參與其中。

 

《落塘源野藝術節》將包括三個主要部分:

我們誠邀您在2019年1月19日及20日,來欣賞《落塘源野藝術節》的創作,參加工作坊、導賞等活動,一起「落塘」,在大自然中學習﹗

約30至40年前,大生圍旁的錦綉花園是魚塘區,因為建築工程,當地居民被安排至隔壁的大生圍居住,大生圍至今有約70間居所,老人家亦佔多數。其中從事養魚業的只有3至4戶。

 

大生圍魚塘位於拉姆薩爾公約濕地之內,毗鄰米埔自然保護區,此地的建築受到政府嚴格規限,政府會經常派員視察,如養魚戶需要興建新棚屋以存放用具,亦需向政府作出申請,並受政府嚴格監管。

 

大生圍現今有約40個魚塘,水深約2至6米,后海灣一帶魚塘的名產為元朗烏頭,佔香港淡水魚市場約5%供應量。早在40年代,香港養魚業初時多以基圍方式運作,透過引入后海灣帶有蝦苗和魚苗的海水,將海產養在近岸的基圍。但由於后海灣水質受污染,養魚戶紛紛轉為以魚塘養魚。魚塘周邊有一些貨櫃或竹棚,用以存放物資,以前更有不少像在大澳常見的水棚。在魚塘中,我們可以看見不同的養魚設備,如增氧機、飼料機、魚網、放置食物的木框等。

 

魚塘定期會有剷塘的工序,以消除在水中和土壤積聚的細菌。一般於秋冬季收成後,魚塘會進行排水和曬塘,再以推土機剷塘, 候鳥在這段時間便會趁機覓食。隨季節轉變,大生圍經常有鳥類前來覓食,池鷺和大白鷺便是大生圍常見鳥類。

 

漁民為了提高魚塘經濟效益,還會利用肥沃的塘泥栽種果樹,如大樹菠蘿、黃皮、桑樹等,用桑葉包裹的茶果,便是大生圍村民的拿手小吃。

2012年開始,香港觀鳥會獲環境及自然保育基金資助,在新界西北的魚塘展開自然保育管理協議試驗計劃,透過與當地養魚戶合作,在超過600公頃的魚塘進行生境管理工作,改善及提高魚塘的生態價值,維持對野生動物的吸引力,特別是吸引水鳥到來棲息覓食。除此,魚塘也是兩棲類、爬蟲類、哺乳類、昆蟲( 如蜻蜓、螢火蟲等) 的繁殖或棲息地,這種有利生態的魚塘運作方式在生態上有重要價值。管理協議宗旨是令各方面包括在人、鳥及其他生物取得生態平衡,各取所需。2017年,計劃得以延續兩年,加強內容包括生態調查及教育宣傳,舉辦不同類型以提高公眾對魚塘和濕地保育的參與和認識。

香港魚塘生態保育計劃網頁

贊助 :

合辦:

協辦:

購票伙伴:

大生圍村

關於大生圍

關於「香港魚塘生態保育計劃」