Art Home has cooperated with the Hong Kong Bird Watching Society for the first time. In conjunction with its annual "New Territories Fish Pond Festival", the "Fish Pond Yuanye Art Festival" is organized to make good use of the bonding characteristics of art through diversified artistic creation and art education The event led the audience and participants to appreciate the conservation value of Tai Sang Wai fish ponds from different angles and to personally experience the importance of sustainable living. This project hopes to use art as a medium for understanding the ecological value of fish ponds and reflecting on "sustainable development", and to take art away from traditional art spaces and into nature.

The "Fish Pond Yuanye Art Festival" will consist of two main parts:

(1) Yupond Yuanye Art Exhibition:

Six artists in residence: Zhang Zhiping, Li Huiyi, Ankie Au Yeung, Lau Lili, MUDwork, Shi Jiayin, will inspect and reside in Dashengwei before the art festival, focusing on the local ecological characteristics, natural environment and life experience in it. Create, and share the creative results with the audience in the art festival from January 20 to 21, 2018. In addition, we also invited different art units to participate in non-residential form: including the artist Ke Jiamin who has in-depth research on "ecology and biodiversity", and the art of Associate Degree in Design (Visual Communication) from the Hong Kong College of Technology Students, with their artistic creations, lead the audience to care for the sustainable ecology of Dashengwei.

 

(2) Yupond Yuanye Classroom:    

In addition to the appreciation of art works, the audience is also welcome to participate in the various workshops and guided tours of the "Fish Pond Yuanye Classroom", so that art can drive your body into the ecological chain of Dashengwei.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

"Fish Pond Yuanye Art Festival 2018" Document Exhibition

In order to let the public have a deeper understanding of the creation and philosophy of "Fish Pond Yuanye Art Festival 2018", we will bring the works and documentation to JCCAC from March to April 2018, whether you know Taishengwei or Yutang before or not. Ecology, bird watching, art home, as long as you are interested in sustainable development and art, you are welcome to watch and think slowly.

Duration: 2018.03.21 (Wed)-2018.04.01 (Sun)
Time: 12:00-19:00
Location: 30 Pak Tin Street, Shek Kip Mei, Kowloon, Hong Kong

Jockey Club Creative Arts Center L2 Platform

How to get there: MTR Shek Kip Mei Station Exit C, walk for about 5 to 8 minutes

 

Fish Pond Literature
 

Facebook Event:
https://www.facebook.com/events/213531906051552/

About Tai Sang Wai

About 30 to 40 years ago, the Fairview Garden next to Tai Sang Wai was a fish pond area. Due to construction works, local residents were arranged to live in Tai Sang Wai next door. There are currently about 70 residences in Tai Sang Wai, and the elderly also account for the majority. Among them, only 3 to 4 households are engaged in fish farming.

 

The Tai Sang Wai Fish Pond is located in the Ramsar Convention Wetland, adjacent to the Mai Po Nature Reserve. The construction of this place is strictly regulated by the government. The government will often send inspections. If fish farmers need to build new sheds to store their utensils, It also needs to apply to the government and is subject to strict supervision by the government.

 

There are currently about 40 fish ponds in Tai Sang Wai with a water depth of about 2 to 6 meters. The famous fish pond in Deep Bay is Yuen Long Aconitum, which accounts for about 5% of the supply of Hong Kong’s freshwater fish market. As early as the 1940s, the fish farming industry in Hong Kong mostly operated in the form of kewai. By introducing seawater with shrimp fry and fry in the Deep Bay, the seafood was raised in the coastal kewei. However, due to the pollution of the Deep Bay water, fish farmers have switched to fish ponds. There are some containers or bamboo sheds around the fish ponds for storage of supplies. Many of them used to be like the common water sheds in Tai O. In the fish pond, we can see different fish farming equipment, such as aerators, feed machines, fish nets, wooden frames for placing food, etc.

 

Fish ponds regularly have a shoveling process to eliminate bacteria that accumulate in the water and soil. Generally, after harvesting in autumn and winter, the fish ponds will be drained and dried, and then bulldozers will be used to shovel the ponds. Migratory birds will take the opportunity to forage during this time. With the change of seasons, birds often come to forage in Taishengwei. Chi-heron and Great Egret are common birds in Taishengwei.

 

In order to improve the economic benefits of fish ponds, fish people also use the fertile pond mud to grow fruit trees, such as big pineapple, yellow bark, mulberry, etc. The tea fruit wrapped in mulberry leaves is a specialty snack for the villagers in Da Shengwei.

About "Hong Kong Fish Pond Ecological Conservation Project"

Beginning in 2012, the Hong Kong Bird Watching Society has received funding from the Environment and Conservation Fund to launch a pilot project of nature conservation management agreement in fish ponds in the northwestern New Territories. Through cooperation with local fish farmers, habitat management work has been carried out on fish ponds of more than 600 hectares to improve And improve the ecological value of fish ponds, maintain the attraction to wild animals, especially attract waterbirds to inhabit and forage. In addition, fish ponds are also breeding or habitats for amphibians, reptiles, mammals, and insects (such as dragonflies, fireflies, etc.). This ecologically beneficial operation of fish ponds is of great ecological value. The purpose of the management agreement is to achieve an ecological balance in all aspects, including humans, birds, and other living things, and each meets its needs. In 2017, the plan was extended for two years, with enhanced content including ecological surveys and education and publicity, and organizing different types to increase public participation and awareness of fish ponds and wetland conservation.

Hong Kong Fish Pond Ecological Conservation Project website: https://hkbwsfishpond.wordpress.com/

The Fish Pond Yuanye Art Festival is an activity of the "Hong Kong Fish Pond Ecological Conservation Project".

Sponsored by:

Co-presented by:

Supported by:

Tai Sang Wai Village

藝術到家與香港觀鳥會首度合作,配合其一年一度的「新界魚塘節」,舉辦「魚塘源野藝術節」,善用藝術的黏合特質,透過多元化的藝術創作及藝術教育活動,帶領觀眾和參加者以不同角度去欣賞大生圍魚塘的保育價值,以及去親身體會永續生活的重要性。此計劃希望能以藝術作為認識魚塘生態價值和反思「永續發展」之媒介,並將藝術帶離傳統藝術空間,走進自然。

是次「魚塘源野藝術節」將包括兩個主要部分:

(一)魚塘源野藝術展覽:

六位駐場藝術家: 張志平、黎慧儀、Ankie Au Yeung、勞麗麗、MUDwork、史嘉茵,將在藝術節前,於大生圍考察、駐留,圍繞當地的生態特色、自然環境和當中的生活體驗,進行創作,並在2018年1月20至21日的藝術節中,與觀眾分享創作成果。另外,我們亦邀請到不同的藝術單位,以非駐場形式參與: 包括對「生態及生物多樣性」有深入研究的藝術家柯嘉敏,以及香港專上學院設計學副學士(視覺傳意)的藝術學生,以他們的藝術創作帶領觀眾去關懷大生圍的永續生態。

 

(二)魚塘源野教室:    

除了藝術作品的欣賞,觀眾還歡迎參與「魚塘源野教室」的各個工作坊及導賞團,讓藝術帶動你的身體進入大生圍的生態鏈。

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

《魚塘源野藝術節2018》文獻展

為了讓大眾更深入認識《魚塘源野藝術節2018》的創作和理念,我們將在2018年3月至4月把作品和文獻紀錄帶到JCCAC,無論你之前認不認識大生圍、魚塘生態、觀鳥會、藝術到家,只要你對永續發展、藝術有興趣,也歡迎你來慢慢看、慢慢想。

展期:2018.03.21 (三) - 2018.04.01 (日)
時間:12:00 - 19:00
地點:香港九龍石硤尾白田街30號

賽馬會創意藝術中心L2平台

如何前往:港鐵石硤尾站C出口,步行約5至8分鐘

 

魚塘文獻
 

Facebook Event:
https://www.facebook.com/events/213531906051552/

關於大生圍

約30至40年前,大生圍旁的錦綉花園是魚塘區,因為建築工程,當地居民被安排至隔壁的大生圍居住,大生圍至今有約70間居所,老人家亦佔多數。其中從事養魚業的只有3至4戶。

 

大生圍魚塘位於拉姆薩爾公約濕地之內,毗鄰米埔自然保護區,此地的建築受到政府嚴格規限,政府會經常派員視察,如養魚戶需要興建新棚屋以存放用具,亦需向政府作出申請,並受政府嚴格監管。

 

大生圍現今有約40個魚塘,水深約2至6米,后海灣一帶魚塘的名產為元朗烏頭,佔香港淡水魚市場約5%供應量。早在40年代,香港養魚業初時多以基圍方式運作,透過引入后海灣帶有蝦苗和魚苗的海水,將海產養在近岸的基圍。但由於后海灣水質受污染,養魚戶紛紛轉為以魚塘養魚。魚塘周邊有一些貨櫃或竹棚,用以存放物資,以前更有不少像在大澳常見的水棚。在魚塘中,我們可以看見不同的養魚設備,如增氧機、飼料機、魚網、放置食物的木框等。

 

魚塘定期會有剷塘的工序,以消除在水中和土壤積聚的細菌。一般於秋冬季收成後,魚塘會進行排水和曬塘,再以推土機剷塘, 候鳥在這段時間便會趁機覓食。隨季節轉變,大生圍經常有鳥類前來覓食,池鷺和大白鷺便是大生圍常見鳥類。

 

魚民為了提高魚塘經濟效益,還會利用肥沃的塘泥栽種果樹,如大樹菠蘿、黃皮、桑樹等,用桑葉包裹的茶果,便是大生圍村民的拿手小吃。

關於「香港魚塘生態保育計劃」

2012年開始,香港觀鳥會獲環境及自然保育基金資助,在新界西北的魚塘展開自然保育管理協議試驗計劃,透過與當地養魚戶合作,在超過600公頃的漁塘進行生境管理工作,改善及提高魚塘的生態價值,維持對野生動物的吸引力,特別是吸引水鳥到來棲息覓食。除此,魚塘也是兩棲類、爬蟲類、哺乳類、昆蟲( 如蜻蜓、螢火蟲等) 的繁殖或棲息地,這種有利生態的魚塘運作方式在生態上有重要價值。管理協議宗旨是令各方面包括在人、鳥及其他生物取得生態平衡,各取所需。2017年,計劃得以延續兩年,加強內容包括生態調查及教育宣傳,舉辦不同類型以提高公眾對魚塘和濕地保育的參與和認識。

香港魚塘生態保育計劃網頁:https://hkbwsfishpond.wordpress.com/

魚塘源野藝術節為「香港魚塘生態保育計劃」之活動。

贊助 Sponsored by:

合辦 Co-presented by:

協辦 Supported by:

大生圍村