Origin

About 30 to 40 years ago, the Fairview Garden next to Tai Sang Wai was a fish pond area. Due to construction works, local residents were arranged to live in Tai Sang Wai next door. There are currently about 70 residences in Tai Sang Wai, and the elderly also account for the majority. Among them, only 3 to 4 households are engaged in fish farming.

 

The Tai Sang Wai Fish Pond is located within the Ramsar Convention Wetland and adjacent to the Mai Po Nature Reserve. The buildings here are strictly regulated by the government. The government often sends inspections. If fish farmers need to build new sheds to store their utensils, It needs to apply to the government and is strictly supervised by the government.

 

There are currently about 40 fish ponds in Tai Sang Wai with a water depth of about 2 to 6 meters. The famous fish pond in Deep Bay is Yuen Long Aconitum, which accounts for about 5% of the Hong Kong freshwater fish market supply. As early as the 1940s, the fish farming industry in Hong Kong mostly operated in the form of kewai. By introducing seawater with shrimp fry and fry in the Deep Bay, seafood was raised in the coastal kewei. However, due to the pollution of the Deep Bay water, fish farmers have switched to fish ponds. There are some containers or bamboo sheds around the fish ponds for storage of supplies. Many of them used to be like the common water sheds in Tai O. In the fish pond, we can see different fish farming equipment, such as aerators, feed machines, fish nets, wooden frames for placing food, etc.

 

Fish ponds regularly have a shoveling process to eliminate bacteria that accumulate in the water and soil. Generally, after harvesting in autumn and winter, the fish ponds will be drained and dried, and then bulldozers will be used to shovel the ponds. Migratory birds will take the opportunity to forage during this time. With the change of seasons, birds often come to forage in Taishengwei. Chi-heron and Great Egret are common birds in Taishengwei.

 

In order to improve the economic benefits of fish ponds, fishermen will also use the fertile pond mud to grow fruit trees, such as big pineapple, yellow bark, mulberry, etc. The tea fruit wrapped in mulberry leaves is a specialty snack for the villagers in Dashengwei.

About | Tai Sang Wai

源起

約30至40年前,大生圍旁的錦綉花園是魚塘區,因為建築工程,當地居民被安排至隔壁的大生圍居住,大生圍至今有約70間居所,老人家亦佔多數。其中從事養魚業的只有3至4戶。

 

大生圍魚塘位於拉姆薩爾公約濕地之內,毗鄰米埔自然保護區,此地的建築受到政府嚴格規限,政府經常派員視察,養魚戶如需興建新棚屋以存放用具,亦需向政府作出申請,並受政府嚴格監管。

 

大生圍現今有約40個魚塘,水深約2至6米,后海灣一帶魚塘的名產為元朗烏頭,佔香港淡水魚市場約5%供應量。早在40年代,香港養魚業初時多以基圍方式運作,透過引入后海灣帶有蝦苗和魚苗的海水,將海產養在近岸的基圍。但由於后海灣水質受污染,養魚戶紛紛轉為以魚塘養魚。魚塘周邊有一些貨櫃或竹棚,用以存放物資,以前更有不少像在大澳常見的水棚。在魚塘中,我們可以看見不同的養魚設備,如增氧機、飼料機、魚網、放置食物的木框等。

 

魚塘定期會有剷塘的工序,以消除在水中和土壤積聚的細菌。一般於秋冬季收成後,魚塘會進行排水和曬塘,再以推土機剷塘, 候鳥在這段時間便會趁機覓食。隨季節轉變,大生圍經常有鳥類前來覓食,池鷺和大白鷺便是大生圍常見鳥類。

 

漁民為了提高魚塘經濟效益,還會利用肥沃的塘泥栽種果樹,如大樹菠蘿、黃皮、桑樹等,用桑葉包裹的茶果,便是大生圍村民的拿手小吃。

關於 | 大生圍